Whether a Method user created a case or a customer did, once the initial case has been saved on appears in the Cases List screen, where you can access and update cases. Some cases take longer (and therefore more interaction) to resolve. The following steps will show you how to access and update a case, and how to close it once it's done.
Customers can create, comment on, and close cases, but they cannot make any changes beyond that. The user assigned to the case will receive an email every time a customer comments or closes a case.
From your Method dashboard, click the Open button on the Cases App. This opens the Existing Cases List.
Search the list manually for the case you’d like to update, or use the search function to locate it, then click the case. The case details are loaded in the following screen:
As you can see above, you now have the option to edit the core of the case: the subject and description as well as the contact and case details.
Generally speaking, unless there's been an error or the contact needs to change, it's a good idea to leave the case and contact details alone to ensure you have an accurate record of how the case began.
All activities that have been logged for this case are visible in the Case Activity tab, which is also where you can create a new activity. Click New to open the activity screen, where you can fill in your activity details (click here for more information).
Without the context of an actual case study, it's hard to walk you through your ownworkflow. Just remember yourCRM basics: an activity is meant to log all your interactions with a customer. So, why might you create a new activity in an existing case?
You may be responding to a customer's comment from the portal
You may be booking a further communication with the customer (like an in-person meeting)
You may be logging a communication with a third party (e.g. ordering a part for a customer)
All of these activities are saved to this case, which can help you keep track of how you and your company dealt with this customer service issue, both today and when the case is closed.
Once you have created your new activity, click Save. This process can be repeated as many times as necessary to solve the customer's issue.
When the issue has been resolved, either you or the customer can close the case. The customer does this from their portal screen, at which point the Method user is informed by email and the case is marked complete. Alternatively, the Method user can close the case by changing the Case Status to complete.
Once a case is complete, it no longer appears in the active filter of the Existing Cases screen, but it will be saved as a closed case for as long as you like.
Saving closed cases is a great way to keep track of your relationship with a customer, not to mention keeping accurate records in case the customer has another issue (or even the same issue, at which point the case can be re-opened by changing the status back to in progress.)