Notes on Customizing the Contacts Portal

When customizing the contacts portal, there are a few considerations to keep in mind.

The Contacts Portal allows your customers self-serve access 24/7. With customization, you can make the portal align with your business practices. 

This document will not walk you through a whole scenario, but it will start you off so you know what to take into consideration.

Portal Navigation

The customer portal uses the Customer Contacts Portal nav menu within the navigation object which allows your users to navigate the different screens in the portal. For more information on how to edit this menu, or create your own menu, please see our article "Portal Navigation" within the reference section of our customization documents.

Which Screen Do I Customize?

When trying to find a page used for a portal, Method has all guest pages pre-pended with the word "Guest-". Below is the screens listing for the Contacts App. Note the guest pages: 

Furthermore, guest pages for portals are not restricted to one app. If you have used the portal, you may recall being able to look at an invoice, or an estimate. These guest pages will be in their appropriate app. For example, the portal guest page for viewing an invoice will be found when viewing the screens for the Invoice App. In the below example, you can see the "Guest - View Invoice" screen in the Invoices App:

If you decide you need brand new screens for your portal, best practices suggest you create them in the associated app. 

Security Permissions and Versions

When editing screens within the portal, it is common to forget how permissions work and which screen version is being used. Failing to do so will result in errors or no visible changes to the portal screens. 

In order for your screen to be visible to your portal guests, keep in mind two things:

  1. Screens must have its security permissions set to guest access - If you set it to public access, then anyone on the interent can access it. Setting it to guest access restricts it to a specific customer you share the link with. For more information on security permissions for the screen, see our Screen Management article
  2. Screens should be set to the Live Version - Our stock screens have a live version which all users can see. If you make a copy of the screen, or make any edits, you may be making changes and modications to a test version. Test versions are not viewable by your customers, and when they log into the portal, they will only see the live version. Once you are finished and satisfied with edits you make to your portal screens, remember to set them to the live version. For more information on versions, please see our article on Screen Versions.

Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact Us