Screen versions

Versioning is a vital feature when it comes to creating screens. Once you’ve created a screen and it’s been live for some time, you may want to make changes to it, but you might not want to take the whole app offline to make your changes.

That’s where screen versions comes in. This feature lets you create a new version of a particular screen and tweak it to your heart’s content, while keeping the original version live and in use by other users. That way you don’t have to take the whole thing down, and nobody will be able to see your changes until you’re finished.

When you’re all done making your changes, you can “push it out”, which is a Method way of saying “make it live for all users who are using your App”. If you aren’t happy with the changes, you can always revert and make the previous version live, since Method doesn’t replace one with the other, it just swaps them out and keeps the other in reserve.

Version Manager

When you click on the Versions option in any screen, you’ll be taken to the Version Manager, which shows you what versions exist for this screen.
Please note that versions are on a screen-to-screen basis, not an app-to-app basis.

As you can see, each version has a unique number (assigned sequentially) and a name and time/date tag identifying who last modified the version and when. 

Each version also offers you three courses of action:

  • Set Status - sets a version to be Live, Test, or Archived. This explained below.
  • Copy (from the vertical ellipsis menu) - make an exact duplicate of the screen. It will be given the next sequential version number (so if you’re making a copy of Version 1, the copy will be called Version 2).  This new version will be a Test version (see below).
  • Delete (from the vertical ellipsis menu) - deletes the version entirely and can’t be undone. You are unable to delete the Live Version.

Live Versions

If a version is live, it means that this version of the screen is the one all users of the app see and interact with. There can only be one live version of a screen at any time, and it can’t be edited or deleted

When you first create a screen, no versions are in live mode. This is fine if only you are using the app, but once other users are using the app, then you need to make a version live. 

Note: Public and Guest pages must have a live version before they can be used by the public.

In order to have a live version for a screen, you need to convert a test or archived version via Set Status. This will give you the option to make the version "Live for All Users".

Test versions

Test versions are not seen by a Method User, unless the user sets themselves to use a test version instead of the live version. 

By default, a user will see a live version of the screen if there is a live version. If a user wants to work on a test version, they would need to select Set Status on the version they wish to use, and then change it to "Test for me". 

When the user now navigates to the screen within Method, they will see the test version, and not the live version. 

Furthermore, this allows the user to customize the screen without interfering with those who are using the live version of the screen. As we said above, when you use a test version, your customers are still seeing the live version of the screen, but you are seeing the test version so you can make sure everything looks and acts the way you want it to on the customer-facing side before you make the test version live for everybody.

Each user can only have one active test version of a screen at any time. Considering there can be multiple test versions, how do you know which version you are looking at? 

In the above image, do you see the little person icon? This indicates which test version you are using.

If no test version has this icon, then you are using the live version, the default version. 

The pencil icon means the version can be edited. Note that the live version and the archive version does not have a pencil icon, and thus cannot be edited. 

Archived versions

The final status for a version is the archive version. A version is automatically set to archived if it used to be live and was replaced by a different version.

Once a version is archived you can make it live again – this just means your current live version will then be archived – but once a version has been made live (“published”) it can never be edited again.

[top]

Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact Us