How Do I Make A Version Live?

If you customize a screen, you may want to make the version you are working on live for others to see.

All Method screens can be customized. 

However, any customizations done to a screen is usually in a private version so as not to affect other users who may be using the screen.

Once a customization is complete, then the version is made live so that all users will be able to see the new version. 

For more information on how versions work, see our article Screen Versions which goes into greater detail.

In this article, we will walk you through how to make a version live so that other users within your Method account can see the new screen.

Step 1 - Find your Screen

The first thing you will need to do is find your screen, and for that, you need to know the name of the screen and which app it's in.

For this article, I have made changes to the View Contact screen within the Contacts app. 

The exact customizations I made are not important, but in order to find the name, it will normally be in the tab of the web page you are viewing.

The View Contact screen is a screen in a stock app. When I customized it, a new copy was made and it was called View Contact(2).

To find this screen, we need to manage the app it was in. Select the vertical ellipsis () to open up the menu and select Manage.

This will take you to the Screens of the app. 

Here, scroll through all the screens until you find the name of the screen you have been customizing.


You will note that the View Contact screen in our example is being redirected to our new, copied, customized screen View Contact(2). This is usually the nature of copied stock screens, and in our example, it's the screen we're looking for. 

Step 2 - Set Version to Live

Once you have found the screen you are customizing in the App you are working on, you will need to set the version to live.

Select the vertical ellipsis () on the appropriate screen, and then select Versions from the menu. 

This will take you to all the versions there are for this screen. In the below example, you will see there is a current Live version, and also one Test version of my screen. Note the Person Icon by Version 2? This indicates the version I was working on. This is the version I want to set live so everyone else can see this version. 

To make my test version live, select Set Status. This will take you to a completely separate page:

From here, it's just a matter of selecting Live for All Users and then clicking Save.

Once saved, the version you selected will be made Live and will be the version all users will see. It will also be the version you see, until you decide you want to see a different version. Note below that Version 2 is now live, and the person icon is not visible. This means I am now using the Live version as well.

And you're done! This process is the same for any screen you customize. Just make sure you know the app and the screen name. 

Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact Us